Chutney Pulav

20140318-223614.jpg

They say necessity is the mother of invention. In the case of this recipe that adage would totally hold true! My in-laws side of the family is absolutely passionate about green chutney
Everyone in the family eats the chutney religiously at breakfast over two slices of bread and are very content with it. I only recently perfected my chutney recipe. And since I had perfected it I made it way too often. So often that even the husband got a little tired of eating Mint chutney. Since I totally hate wasting food however small a morsel, I started thinking about how I could use up the remaining chutney. After making a very flavorful paneer (recipe coming soon), I decided to randomly add chutney to my otherwise plain veggie Pulav! I was not prepared for the results! The ensuing dish was packed with flavor in every bite! This is definitely my go to quick one pot meal on a busy work day! I am so happy with this dish, I have made it almost every other week. Last time I tried it with Quinoa instead of rice and that was fantastic as well. Here is my recipe –

Green chutney

Follow the recipe from here.

For the Pulav
Mixed veggies 1.5 cups – I used carrots, beans, potatoes, bell peppers, cauliflower and peas. I added paneer as well.
Onion – 1 thinly sliced
Yogurt – 1/2 cup
Basmati rice – 1.5 cups
Black cardamom – 2
Star Anise – 1
Cloves – 4/5
Cinnamon stick- 1 inch piece
Green cardamom- 2
Bay leaves – 1
Pepper corns- a few
Cumin seeds- 1 tbsp
Oil – 2 tbsp

Method

In a thick bottomed pan roast all spices separately until aromatic. Grind in a coffee grinder and keep it aside. Add oil to the pan and sauté the onions until they are translucent. Add the veggies, salt and a little water . Cover and cook. In the meantime shallow cry paneer cubes in 2 tbsp of oil until golden brown. Let them rest in a bowl of hot/ warm water. This step helps to keep the paneer soft. Wash and soak rice for about 20 mins. When the veggies are partly cooked, add chutney, yogurt, ground spices, paneer and rice. Mix everything together gently. At this point you may either transfer everything to a rice cooker or continue to cook in the same pan. Add 1 cup water for every cup of rice. Ensure that the water just about covers the rice and veggies. Add another 1/2 cup if needed. Cover and cook on high heat till the wTer starts to boil. Then reduce heat to a medium and let the rice and veggies cook together. Do not peek in or disturb the pan. After about 15 mins, give a gentle stir and check for done ness. Turn heat off and cover the pan. Let the rice cook in the remaining heat and steam. Serve with a cool cucumber and tomato raita, pickle and papad.

20140318-223602.jpg

Variations
1. Use quinoa or barley instead of rice.
2. Try this with some greens add spinach or kale and add some beans for a protein boost. I would try this with chickpeas.

This recipe is being sent to the Global Recipe project at http://crowdedearthkitchen.com/global-recipe-project/

.

One thought on “Chutney Pulav

Leave a Reply

