Dhingri muttar – Mushrooms and Peas in a smooth onion- tomato – yogurt gravy!

This is another gem from Tarla Dalal’s book of Punjabi recipes.

South Indians growing up in Maharashtra, I think we got the best of both worlds when it came to culinary exposure. The rotis, sabzis and dals were as much a staple as the sambar, rasam and kootus. My mom cooked a variety of food and so did my mother in law. However, mushrooms were never a part of our meals. My parents and in-laws still consider it part of the meat fraternity.

I, on the other hand used mushrooms only in the Indo – chinese dishes I made simply because I just did not know how to incorporate them in everyday cooking. Then one day, I ate this mushroom and peas dish at a friends place who’s mom is a fantastic cook. Although, I never got to trying it myself. When I bought this Tarla Dalal book a few years back, I was encouraged to try this dish as part of our dinner. It turned out to be an instant hit with the family and has stayed that way since then.

Fotor0129113713

 

Ingredients

1 1/2 mushrooms – cleaned and quartered

1/2 cup peas

chopped onion – 1/2 cup

chopped tomatoes – 1/2 cup

2 green chilles

Yogurt – 1/2 cup

garlic – 2 pods

ginger – 1/2 inch piece

2 tsp oil

1/2 tsp turmeric

1 tsp garam masala ( I make my own. But I have tried the Everest brand and quite like it)

1/2 tsp red chilli powder

salt to taste

In a pan heat the oil. Add onions and cook till they turn translucent. In a mortar add green chillies,garlic and ginger with a little salt( the salt acts as an abrasive agent here and speeds the crushing process) and crush with a pestle till a paste is formed.( I love the flavor of fresh garlic,ginger,chilly paste. It beats any pre-packaged brand and really does not take too long). Add this paste to the cooked onions and fry till the raw smell is gone. Add tomatoes and cook. Add salt, turmeric, garam masala and red chilli powder to this masala. Let it cool. Once cool, blend the mixture with 1/2 cup yogurt till smooth. Pour this mixture back in the same pan and add the mushrooms and peas. Cover and cook till the mushrooms are soft. Garnish with cilantro and serve with warm rotis. I served it with fenugreek paranthas.

Variations –

1.If you do not like or eat mushrooms, you can use tofu or paneer or even potatoes in this recipe and that would taste great!

2. Add some dried fenugreek ( kasuri methi) and chat masala or whole spices like cinnamon, star anise and cloves instead of garam masala powder for a more fragrant dish.

 

Leave a Reply

