Chakli

Growing up in Maharashtra, chakli was a must have as a diwali delicacy! I waited for my maharashtrian neighbors to bring their plates of sweets and savories,only to pick out the karanji and chakli before anyone else in the house laid hands on them! While, mom always made the south indian version of the chakli (thenguzhal), the former always caught my fancy. I guess it was a classic case of ” Ghar ki murgi dal barabar” (Essentially, the grass on the other side is always greener)!

I wanted to make chakli for diwali this time around, but wasnt ready to go through the ordeal of roasting and grinding the dals/grains. As I was looking for an easy recipe, I came across this one. I followed the recipe just as she explained and my chakalis came out delicious! Thanks Madhura! chakli chakli 1

Leave a Reply

