Banana, sweet lime, chocolate bread…

I love baking,although I don’t have much patience to wait till my baked goods are out of the oven. I also love banana bread, but was really bored with just the regular banana bread. So this is a variation of the regular banana bread. I have a colleague at work who travels to California and back pretty much every other week. His girlfriend in CA has a huge backyard with orange, avocado and apple trees. So everytime he comes back home,he has a box full of whatever he is able to harvest. Last week he brought in some oranges ( more sweet limes) that reminded me of Indian mosambis. They were so juicy and sweet, I ended up eating about 3 the same day. I brought home about a dozen of those sweet limes. Having eaten,juiced and added to smoothies, I still had to figure out what I would do with the remaining 2 or 3. While making this banana bread recipe,I decided to add the rind and juice of the sweet lime to my batter. I love chocolate and so does the little one so I figured why not? It also turned out that the all purpose flour in my pantry had expired, so I could not use that. As an alternative, I used the pancake flour I had in my pantry.Here is my recipe –

Ingredients –

1.   1 3/4 cup of aunt Jemima’s pancake mix. If you have all purpose flour/maida use the same amount and it should turn out just fine. You will need to add 1 teaspoon each of baking powder and baking soda to this.

4 very ripe bananas

3 tbsp of cocoa powder

1 Egg

1 stick unsalted butter

3/4 cup sugar

1 Orange or sweet lime

Roasted Almonds/cashews/ walnuts/pecans

1 tsp vanilla essence

Mix flour and cocoa powder. Add the rind of the orange and mix together. In anther bowl, mash the bananas, add the beaten egg,sugar, orange juice and butter and beat together. Bake in a pre – heated oven at 350 degrees for 50 mins.

This can also be made in a microwave. Put it in for 7 mins on high, check to see if it is done  by inserting a fork. If it  comes out clean its done.If not, keep in the microwave for 2 mins at a time and keep checking and repeating till done.

The orange juice gives the bread a very fresh taste. This recipe is low in sugar, just because the husband and the kid like it that way. Add more sugar if you would like. You can also substitute oil with butter. Add some apple sauce for more fruit action :). I would also add more chocolate if you want there to be more of a chocolate flavor. In this case, the chocolate was kind of hidden.

Yummm…

Enjoy with afternoon tea 🙂

2 thoughts on “Banana, sweet lime, chocolate bread…

  1. Yumm da….. just yesterday, sis in law made this yumm banana chocolate marble cake… pretty much similar, minus the orange flavour – and it was oh so heavenly. am going to try this sometime (baking and me are slightly distant, cos I just hate the stirring and the messiness around it …. but once in a while, for my love of cakes and the little ones, and when I have all the time in hand, will surely try this)

  2. Hello!

    Your blog has caught our attention because of the quality of the recipes. We would be delighted if you would join us at http://www.mytaste.com/ so that we could link to it.

    myTaste.com is a search engine that compiles the best American cooking sites and blogs from the Internet. Several hundred blogs are already enrolled here and are taking benefit from the traffic we are sending to their sites.

    To join myTaste, just go to http://www.mytaste.com/add-your-food-blog

    Best regards,
    Elin
    MyTaste.com

Leave a Reply

